December 2014 – Last Chapter of 2014

Can you believe that it’s already December?! I can’t!

ipsy posted on Instagram today this perfect words about the last month of 2014. It says, “You have one month to finish the book of 2014. Make the last chapter a perfect one.” Word, right?

I cannot remember any regrets, mistakes or negatives about 2014. There were definitely some ups and downs, but there were no period of me being depressed and frustrated, and wanted to give up on life. I’m not sure if there’s any changes in my environment or daily routine, but I know I have a great job, great support system from my family and friends, an awesome and loving boyfriend, and lastly a positive outlook in life!

I definitely feel like I sail through 2014 without any real check-list or resolutions I want to accomplish in the beginning of the year. And to be honest with you, I feel great about it!  This time of year, I usually start to compile some of the stuff I wanted to check off my list. It definitely always starts with losing weight, waking up early, saving up money, spending less, and the list can go on and on. However, every time I made a list and when it comes to the time I make new ones for the year coming, I always get disappointed of myself for not fulfilling these original resolutions I made. It’s great to have a sort of direction on where to go or what to accomplish, but it’s great to be spontaneous and not make plans sometimes.. Give it a try for 2015!

For me, I want to focus on one thing in 2015: myself! I want to take care of myself more. I want to start loving myself more and making sure that I stay healthy and fit. There are a few things in mind that I want to start next year. I wanted to start taking care of my skin and learning different make-up skills. It might sound vain and conceited, but when I think I look beautiful, it’ll show on the outside too. When I have a good hair day, I feel confident walking around and I smile more often. When I got up early enough to do my make-up and it turns out well, I have a good drive to work even though traffic is bad. To do this, I started a few subscriptions to beauty box services out there. I wanted to see what make-up is out there and what can work best for me.

The second thing I want to do is definitely to get fit. I gained so many pounds after living in LA for nine years. Part of me want to lose the weight and part of me want to be healthy. I’m planning to live to 100 and I think I should start eating healthy food and build some muscle strength. To do this, I’m planning to go to the gym at least three times a week and eat fruits and vegetables every day. And.. less rice! (I’m Asian and I can’t skip rice for a day because my tummy will ache.)

The third thing is to manage my finance better. I think I did pretty well this year, but since I got some credit cards, I spent way too much! I want to be able to know when to stop so I can pay them off every month without owing and paying interest. I also want to save up more for unexpected things and the future. I’d like to own my own house in the future and give some money back to my parents for paying my school’s tuition. And of course to travel around the world. Well, first stop would be Hawaii, even though it is in the U.S. Then maybe Indonesia and Maldives.

The last thing is probably to give more. I try to occasionally donate money and stuff to charities like Salvation Army, Red Cross and MEND (my favorite non-profit in Pacoima – I used to intern there).  I’d love to volunteer my time helping out at one of these organizations. Hopefully I can spend a couple Saturdays every month to do so.

That’s my take on 2015. Hopefully you get inspire to create your own focus/focuses. They don’t have to be super elaborate, it could be as simple as learning how to cook mac and cheese (without the box). Have fun!

Stay beautiful.. :)

Leave a Reply

